Book Review: LinkedIn for Lawyers

There are many guides available on LinkedIn, lots of them free and readily available via the web. So I was interested to see why a book, specifically aimed at Lawyers, would be worth buying.

Well IT IS!! I am not a lawyer, never was and won’t ever be. I consider myself to be reasonably IT savvy – I mean I have a BLOG, and I thought I had LinkedIn nailed (check out my 500+ connections – which has more status that a black Amex card!). But I learned more about how LinkedIn can help me and my business in 30 minutes of reading this book than in the 2 years I have been a member.

Now I should own up – I know the author Kirsten Hodgson, a NZ based professional services marketing guru who has a truly global reputation after working as a BD & Marketing professional for some of the World’s leading law firms. You would expect me to know her given what I do; but actually I have been following her blog and status updates on LinkedIn for over a year, and have been admiring her intelligent and insightful articles from a distance. She knows what she is talking about, she knows how to inform and she has a sense of humour. What more can you ask for?

This book does what it says it will. It will help Lawyers to connect, engage and grow their business (practice); and it does it in a traditional (i.e print) and technologically savvy way, via use of an interactive online resource which can be accessed via QR codes. Yes, it really does. You can read it and scan it with your iPhone at the same time (though not in the bath obviously).

The book is laid out in clear, concise chapters. Taking you from a novice premise of “Introduction to Social Media” right through to Advertising, Starting Groups and Leveraging your profile. Its brilliant stuff.

I am not expert enough to review whether all the suggestions are the most efficient or effective, but I reckon you would be hard pressed to find a more informative and accessible guide as this one. More importantly, if you have a job where you have to persuade lawyers to join and use LinkedIn, then this book is surely a ‘Must Have”. After all if Lawyers see there is a book on the subject, they are bound to take it seriously.

NZ – http://www.lexisnexis.com/store/catalog/apac/productdetail.jsp?pageName=relatedProducts&catId=cat250010&prodId=prod890589

Australia – http://www.lexisnexis.com/store/au/catalog/productDetail.jsp?pageName=relatedProducts&catId=cat1010068&prodId=prod17740403

UK – http://www.lexisnexis.co.uk/store/uk/LinkedIn-For-Lawyers/product

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

